What Does the N.T. say About the Word of God?

word

We know that John starts His powerful testimony of Jesus by calling Him the logos/Word. (John 1:1) John also confirms this in Rev. 19:11,13 “Then I saw heaven opened, and behold, a white horse! The one sitting on it is called Faithful and True…He is clothed in a robe dipped in  blood, and the name by which he is called is The Word of God.”

So we know from the Scriptures that Jesus is the logos/word of God. I was told that Jesus is the Logos and the Bible is the logos but, from the studies that I have done, there were no lower case letters in the original manuscripts. So trying to differentiate between Jesus as Logos and logos is completely irrelevant because that practice started long after the original manuscripts were written. LINK

Jesus did define the logos/word but, it is interesting that He almost always contrasted the Scriptures (or the Law and the Prophets) with the logos/word of God. Actually, I have found many times that Jesus was recorded to have done this in the 4 “Gospels”, Luke did it in Acts and Paul does it in 1 Corinthians. I am still compiling a list of these references and would be glad to share it with you when I am done.

In the 330 uses of variations of the word: “logo” in the Bible, I have not found one that indisputably describes any of the Epistles, the 4 “Gospels” or any O.T. Scriptures as the “logos/word of God.” There are a few that make me scratch my head and I will write about them because, I am not cherry-picking from select verses in an attempt to prove my point. I am researching every instance of the word/logos and will not ignore any, even if they seem to undermine my study. I am searching for the truth, to prove to myself first and foremost. If my studies eventually disprove my own theories, at least I will be closer to the truth.

So what did Jesus, The logos/Word of God call the logos/word of God?

In the 3 recordings of the “Parable of the Sower”, Jesus said that “the sower sows the word/logos” (Mark 4:14). Luke wrote that “The seed is the word/logos of God” (Luke 8:11) and in Matt.13:19 it is written that the seed is the “Word of the Kingdom”.

It is also interesting that the 3 of them combined, used logos/word almost 20 times in this parable alone! I think this is significant, especially considering what Jesus said when the Disciples asked Him about this parable. He said in Mark 4:13 “Do you not understand this parable? How then will you understand all the parables?”

It’s as if He was letting them know that understanding this parable was a key to understanding all of His parables. Since “All these things Jesus spoke to the crowds in parables, and He did not speak to them without a parable.(Matt.13:34) We should be sure our concepts are founded on the Cornerstone alone and not on any teachings or doctrine of man.

I want to be clear that I am not attempting to disrespect or undermine the Scriptures in any way. I am also not trying to introduce a new sect of Christianity that refuses to call the Bible; “The logos/word of God.” I believe that the Scriptures make it clear that the Bible contains God’s words. Personally, I think that the Bible can accurately be called the rhema/word. However, we may have a different understanding of those 2 different words today than what was understood 2,000 years ago. I am still learning…

I am simply asking a question that I believe deserves a studious answer. Basically, what does God call the Bible? Does He consider the Bible, His logos/word? Does He simply consider it Scripture? Does He consider it His rhema/word? Is the logos/word of God only Jesus or it is also the Gospel of the Kingdom of God? If so, can the Bible be called “The Gospel of the Kingdom of God?” Can the Bible be called Jesus?

I don’t claim to understand this all right now. This is a long but, still incomplete study of what the Scriptures have recorded. I started this study because, for most of my Christian walk, I idolized the Bible. I knew and believed that “The logos/word was with God and the logos/word was God…” and since I understood the Bible to be the “word of God”, I basically presumed that the Bible was worthy of worship. This caused serious stunt in my walk with God and I think that writing about some of these things will benefit someone.

If many Christians were more honest with themselves and God, I think that they might realize they are guilty of the same thing. May God, by the Holy Spirit, open our minds and the eyes of our heart to the truth of His Scriptures!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

