Why we Must Know What Logos/Word is

word

A lot of well-meaning Christian family and friends tell me that I get “bogged down” in the details too much. Sometimes I almost obsess over the Scriptures. I am not as “bad” as I used to be though, because now I spend more time than before in prayer, worship, praise, tongues, and meditation. But, I am probably still unbalanced towards studying the Bible.

As avid students of the Scriptures, we can see that words are very important to God. Jesus, “is called The Word of God“. (Rev.19:13)

The Word is the Cornerstone of creation. “For by him all things were created, in heaven and on earth, visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or authorities—all things were created through him and for him. And he is before all things, and in him all things hold together.” (Col.1:16,17)

Everything exists through the Word, by the Word and for the Word (also John 1:3). The Word is above all created things in Heaven and earth!

We need to know if the logos/word that is spoken of by the Bible is always speaking about Jesus or if it is ever speaking of the written Scriptures.

Personally, I believe that the Bible does not reference itself (the Scriptures) as logos/word. I believe that the Bible only calls Jesus and the Gospel of the Kingdom of God; logos/word. The Bible seems to refer to itself as “Scripture”.

However, I may be wrong. If I am wrong, at least I will have learned to know God more. If this study proves to be right…well, only God knows…

Check this out!

So Jesus was saying to those Jews who had believed Him, “If you continue in My logos/word, then you are truly disciples of Mine; and you will know the truth, and the truth will make you free.” John 8:31,32

Was Jesus saying to believers, continue in the Scriptures and you will know the truth and be set free? Or was He saying for us to continue in HIS logos/message? Continue in the “Gospel of the Kingdom of God and you will be set free!?

I don’t know but, I have loads of questions and references from dissecting “logos”/word in the first 6 books of the N.T. and it would be way too much for one blog post. I will put every post concerning this topic under the same picture that I used above. BELIEVE that the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Truth will guide you into all truth!” (John 16:13)

Leave a Reply

