“For the Glory of God”

The-Glory-of-God1-1024x768

I believe Jesus was lead by the Spirit of God to allow Lazarus to die.

What?

Check out the actions of Jesus in John 11 ~ “Lazarus, was sick. 3The sisters therefore sent to him, saying, “Lord, behold, he for whom you have great affection is sick….when Jesus heard it, he said, “This sickness is not to death, but for the glory of God, that God’s Son may be glorified by it.” 5…”Our friend, Lazarus, has fallen asleep, but I am going so that I may awake him out of sleep.” 12The disciples therefore said, “Lord, if he has fallen asleep, he will recover.” 13Now Jesus had spoken of his death, but they thought that he spoke of taking rest in sleep. 14So Jesus said to them plainly then, “Lazarus is dead. 15I am glad for your sakes that I was not there, so that you may believe.”

Jesus spoke very plainly about why Lazarus was sick..that He would be glorified and so the Disciples would believe. These believers still did not believe in Jesus as he really is, they had to see some things before believing that He was Almighty God. Listen to Martha’s “mixed faith”.

Therefore Martha said to Jesus, “Lord, if you would have been here, my brother wouldn’t have died. 22Even now I know that, whatever you ask of God, God will give you.”23Jesus said to her, “Your brother will rise again.” 24Martha said to him, “I know that he will rise again in the resurrection at the last day.” 25Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. He who believes in me will still live, even if he dies. 26Whoever lives and believes in me will never die. Do you believe this?” 27She said to him, “Yes, Lord. I have come to believe that you are the Christ, God’s Son, he who comes into the world.”

Basically, she believes that Jesus could have healed Lazarus but, now it was too late. Why? Maybe because she had never seen Jesus raise someone from the dead before. Everyone knew about Jesus healing all who came to him but, no one had seen him raise anyone from the dead! How could we expect Martha to have that faith without reading it in the Bible and having Holy Spirit bear witness to Jesus?

So, Jesus spoke very clearly and told her…think about that. God stood there and personally told her that Lazarus would live and she still didn’t get it! Life without Holy Spirit must be really tough…

“Jesus said, “Take away the stone.” Martha, the sister of him who was dead, said to him, “Lord, by this time there is a stench, for he has been dead four days.” 40Jesus said to her, “Didn’t I tell you that if you believed, you would see God’s glory?”

Martha wasn’t thinking God’s thoughts; she was concerned about the smell but, Jesus was ready to keep His promise and reveal God’s glory!

Could Jesus have easily prevented Lazarus from dying? Clearly. But, Jesus told His followers that it was good for Lazarus to die so they would see his glory and believe (even more).

OUR MINI- “LAZARUS” STORY ~

This weekend; we went through a sickness in our house. Grace had a fever around 102 Friday and I took her to the Dr’s Friday afternoon. They took 2 tests; one for the lab and one on-site for strep and it came back about 10 minutes later negative. Thank the Lord!

She kept complaining that her throat and mouth hurt so we pampered her, gave her some Ibuprofen, a bath and put her to bed. The next morning when she woke up, she was clearly better. She had no pains in her mouth or throat, no fever and seemed to be even happier than usual! As soon as I saw her; I knew she was better. Imagine our surprise when the Lab called and reported that they tested Grace positive for strep! But, here she was (without any antibiotics) standing in front of us completely normal!

Half way through the day; I was thanking Father for healing her and Daniel showed signs of a high fever. He also seemed to be having mouth sensitivity so, Kate scheduled an appointment for him the next day. We were told by the wisdom of the world (from multiple sources) that “of course he has strep too…”

Who would deny the likelihood, considering the timing and the sharing of food, drinks, utensils, toys in mouth, bath, etc…

But, I was still believing that this sickness has no right to touch my family…yes, even though Grace just got touched by it. That is the kind of foolish to the world faith that I have. When you have God’s Words from something like Psalm 91 engrafted into your very being; you have a very good reason to hold on to God’s promises above everything else!

Did I grumble and complain about my kid’s being sick on Father’s Day…Of course I had those thoughts cross my mind and when they did; I thanked my perfect Father of Lights, who has no darkness in him at all for who he is! I spent much of the day worshiping Him and giving him praise…not because I think it will “get me something” but, because He is actually worthy of it at all times!

I have to mention that both of our kids were running around the Dr’s office laughing and having a blast without any sign of sickness at all! I hope the Dr’s office took notice and remembered that we are the family that they try to convince to immunize their kids almost every visit and I always end up explaining something about the faith in God’s grace to keep us safe and healthy (which never seems to go ever well but, God brings the increase!)

Well, it was the same story with Daniel; no strep from the Dr’s office’s test. It’s been over 24 hours and the lab hasn’t called so I am thinking that the lab test was SOMEHOW negative for strep too.

Both kids have been running around and happy as ever; so the expected 3-7 days of strep without antibiotics was maybe 24 hours for Grace and who can say what happened with Daniel but, he is healed from whatever strep-like symptoms he had for a day. Maybe it’s similar to the same reason Jesus allowed Lazarus to die (in a much smaller way)…maybe we just saw the glory of God because we believed in spite of many physical reasons to doubt. (John 11:40)

We worship a God that never changes because that’s who he is. Unchanging, unfailing, perfect agape love. (Heb.13:8 , 1 John 4:8, 1 Cor.13:7,8 )

Leave a Reply

