Confess Your Sins to God?

This is a word Study.

 

DEFINE “confess” or

homologōmen ~ Strongs ~ “to confess, profess

From a compound of the base of homou and logos; to assent, i.e. Covenant, acknowledge — con- (pro-)fess, confession is made, give thanks, promise.

see GREEK homou

see GREEK logos ”

 

Only used 33 times in NT

1 time by Paul to timothy when he “confessed” that the mystery of the Godhead is great.

6 times that “confession” is used it is positive. It’s about our confession of Christ or making the good confession.

1 by Herod concerning an oath to his daughter, and whatever she desired

1 by Jesus “depart from me, i never knew you”

18 times used (mostly by John) as a very positive “confession” of faith. Often from the mouth of Jesus, In regards to us confessing Christ and him responding by confessing us to the Father.

2 times by John the Baptizer when he “confessed” that he was not the Messiah

1 time in Acts concerning a promise that God had “confessed” to Abraham.

1 time in Acts concerning the Pharisees that “confessed” all supernatural signs, unlike the Sadducees.

1 time in the “faith chapter” when he recalled the over-comers of the OT who “confessed” they were strangers in this world.

1 LONE time in 1 John 1:9 where John vaguely instructs someone to confess their sins.

 

 

There is more and the word seems to be more intense than simply “confess”. This Greek word is

exomologeisthe

 

HELPS word studies adds ~ “1843 eksomologéō (from 1537 /ek, “wholly out from,” intensifying3670 /homologéō, “say the same thing about”) – properly, fully agree and to acknowledge that agreement openly (whole-heartedly); hence, to confess (“openly declare”), without reservation (no holding back).”

Then HELPS says about the word “ek” ~ “1537 ek (a preposition, written eks before a vowel) – properly, “out from and to” (the outcome); out from within1537 /ek (“out of”) is one of the most under-translated (and therefore mis-translated) Greek propositions – often being confined to the meaning “by.”1537 (ek) has a two-layered meaning (“out from and to“) which makes it out-come oriented (out of the depths of the source and extending to its impact on the object).

“Out from and to”. From the inside out. This second definition seems to relate the idea of repentance more powerfully than 1 John 1:9’s use of “confess”.

Consider how it was used, in its mere 10 uses.

3 times in regards to confessing sins (to other people) immediately upon being converted.

1 lone time (James 5) concerning inside the church, among believers and there it was not about confessing our sin to God but, too each other for the sake of healing!

5 times in regards to praising God or confessing his name! 2 of these times,by Jesus himself when he said “I praise you Father”

1 time when Judas agreed to betray Jesus.

 

Summary ~ Only 2 times in the entire New Testament could this word be considered used about Christians confessing their sins. In 1 John 1:9, it could be argued (and has been many times) that he was not writing to believers because of the surrounding verses. John actually didn’t address the believers (specifically) until Chapter 2 verse 1 ~ ” 1My little children, I am writing these things to you so that you may not sin. And if anyone sins, we have an Advocate with the Father, Jesus Christ the righteous; 2and He Himself is the propitiation for our sins; and not for ours only, but also for those of the whole world.”

The emphasis clearly directed towards children of God is not their confession of sin but, Jesus their righteous Advocate and Mediator, the blood of Jesus already speaks “mercy and forgiveness” on our behalf. Why do we need to speak anything contrary to him?

ONE time that believers were definitely instructed to confess their sins was where James wrote to the dispersed Jewish believers to confess their sins to each other and be healed. But, this confession was not directed towards God but among the brethren!

 
Almost every time it was used concerning confessing sins was about new converts. Paul frequently wrote to the already converted believers in his letters and never once commended them to confess their sins. EVER. He did, however write many things about us keeping our focus on Jesus, think about Him and the things above, where we are seated with him.
 
Paul’s focus was on our righteousness, not our mistakes. As we pursue love and righteousness, we naturally abandon our mistakes!
Considering that over half of the time “confess” was used, it was about believers confessing God and Jesus as Lord, it makes sense to me that we should definitely emphasize the Higher things above and use our confession to declare his goodness and not our mistakes.
The only time that we can clearly and definitely claim “confession of sin” is something that believers were instructed to do was when James instructed them to pray for each other for healing.
That’s it. Period.
I am so serious about this because before I knew my permanent righteousness in Christ (almost 2 years ago), I was a Spirit-filled Christian that loved Jesus, the Bible and seeking the Lord but, I was very sin-conscious. I was raised with the idea that “every un-confessed sin prevented me from fellowship with God”. Literally, God could not inhabit the same place as any single sin. This misconception of the amazing nature of God caused me to go through years of striving, self-righteousness, condemnation and criticism.
Admittedly, I still have a lot to learn and I even do still confess sins to God (but mostly the people that I wrong because that is the Scriptural truth that the NT conveys). However, more than any sin confessed, I declare his mercy, thank him for his forgiveness, His perfectly loving nature and victory of the Cross! I speak with my mouth my belief as Jesus my permanent righteousness and my unity in him!
In essence, I confess Jesus name. His nature. Because Jesus has confessed me to the Father and we are one in spirit forever.
Sin is not my nature. It is not who I am, it is simply something that I mistakenly do on occasion.
My nature is divine. I confess who I am in Christ and who He is in me.
When I do this, I simply walk away from sin without even being aware of it because I am fixing my thoughts and heart on Jesus…I see Him and am daily transformed into his image more and more.
Sin is left behind, forgotten and ignored. When you are truly in love, you simply sin less as you love more.
I cannot and will not ever confess every sin that I have or will commit.
But, I can confess who Jesus is as I continue to become more like Him.
Which one do you think glorifies God?
Leave a Reply

